Tags

,

As some of my avid readers know, I’m a junior in college, majoring in Art Management. But what you may not know is that I have not always been an art major. I started out as an early childhood education major. I switched when I realized that one, it would be extremely difficult to find a teaching job today and two, art has and always will be my passion in life. I think switching majors was one of the best things I’ve ever done.

So, yesterday, as I was walking through campus, I overheard a girl telling her friends about how she’s not allowed to major in anything else except psychology or else her parents will not help her with school. They believe that that’s the best path for her to take.

It made me remember when I was switching majors. My mother was pissed! She told me for weeks I’d never find a decent job and that she had already told everyone that I was going to be a teacher. My advisor however, told me to follow my bliss. He said if art made me happy, then fuck how much money I made, just as long as I was happy. And I am. I’m very happy.

I wanted to give that advice to that girl so badly, but as I thought about it, I don’t think it would have helped much. Her situation was a lot different than mine. As I listened more, she explained how her family was very strict and everyone in it was some form of doctor. She also said she knew no other life.

I can’t imagine being told you can’t have help with school because of what you want to study. I love my major and can’t wait to find a job in my field.

