Tags

, ,

I tend to stay away from politics and government related issues (since everyone talks about them), but sometimes, something happens that just makes me have to write about it.

Instead of writing about which candidate I kneel down to or what political party’s ass do I kiss, I’m going to talk about the nastier side of politics. The side that makes me think that people are De-evolving as we speak.

For this blog post, I’m going to talk about a high school girl from Philly. This young girl decided to wear a Romney t-shirt to school. Now while I don’t agree with Romney, nor do I like him, I would never do what her teacher did.

Her geometrey teacher is quoted saying, “Are your parents republican?”

When the 16 year old girl (who has a right to free speech) said, “I don’t know,” her teacher responded, “That’s like me wearing a KKK shirt.”

That’s funny. I didn’t know the KKK made t-shirts advertising their campaign.

All jokes aside, what I think the teacher did was very unproffessional. The poor girl sat there, humiliated, because the person that’s supposed to be giving them an education is instead embarassing her because of her political opinion.

Now this post is not meant to spark a debate about who’s better, Obama or Romney, it’s about what this teacher did. First of all, what’s it any business if the girl wears a Romney/Ryan shirt? It’s her opinion, she’s entitled to express it, just like I’m entitled to wear whatever I want.

Next, this girl is only sixteen! She can’t vote anyways! So why was this teacher getting into a huffy? Why wasn’t she just teaching them shapes and stuff like she’s supposed to. Unless it was a political class or a history class, maybe then asking her what her thoughts on Romney were would be warranted. Even if it was a political class, this teacher still had no right to tell her to take her shirt off and then compare it to a KKK shirt (which i still don’t know if they actually make those).

So what was done about it?

Her parents went to the school principal who made the teacher apologize. She did apologize, but also said it was a joke.

If it was, it’s not a very funny joke. To make a girl sit there, surrounded by other kids, being belittled for her shirt, is appalling. It’s bullying! Plain and simple.

So, share your thoughts on this topic. I’d love to hear them.

And here’s the article for reference: http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2012/10/04/14220157-pa-student-who-wore-romney-shirt-teacher-told-me-to-get-out-of-the-classroom#comments

