Tags

, , , , ,

When I do paintings and drawings, I like to post the process and progress I make. Some of you guys may have seen my parrot painting post. Well I have a new one for you all!

You all probably know already that I’m into dark and creepy stuff and a lot of my work follows that theme. For this painting, I chose to combine the art of dance with death and created “Ghost Dancer”.

So I started with getting a canvas and sketching out a rough drawing. Image

After sketching out the basic foundations, I left it alone for about a week since I tend to get frustrated easily with my paintings. Next came fleshing out the tree. Image

I used acrylic paint for the entire thing. I used a small amount of water to get the highlights and less water for the dark areas. It didn’t take long to paint the tree. It was just kind of time consuming because of the branches. If you’ve never drawn or painted a tree, you should try it. It can be quite relaxing.

Next came the sky. Since it’s a night time scene, I mixed phthalocyanine¬† blue with a small amount of black. I didn’t want a deep black sky since there’s a full moon. The sky usually only looks black when there’s no moon. I used kind of a swirly pattern in the sky to give it some life instead of just flat color. It’s kind of hard to see in the photo but in the end result you can see it. Image

After the sky was done, I didn’t touch this for a few days. I got busy with work and had a few jewelry orders to fill. Painting is something I kind of do for fun more than profit. Next came the land. I mixed green with black and grey to make a sort of deep forest green that I could thin out with water and still have a bit of a bright shade. This took FOREVER! Believe it or not, painting land is probably the worst thing for me to do. I hate it. I don’t know why, I just do. I painted the color on thickly and used water to thin out the parts where the tops of the hills are highlighted by the moon. Image

Again, I didn’t touch this for like a week. I feel like if I take breaks, I’m more inclined to be careful with what I’m doing.

The skull face in the moon was next. I originally wasn’t going to put a face in the moon, but after staring at what I had for a bit, I thought it needed something. Image

Then we have the little tombstones. I only put in a few. I didn’t want to go totally nuts with them. I felt like if it was a small cemetery in the middle of nowhere, it’d have more of a supernatural feel. Image

And then we have the final product! After adding some more little details to the tombstones, I added the main subject of the piece, a ghostly dancer. This was actually easier to paint then I thought it was going to be. I used white paint to make a thin outline of the dancer and used extremely watered down white to give the transparent effect. I think it turned out way better than I thought it would. Image

I think it turned out way better than I expected!

That being said, thank you all for reading my second painting process! I post these in the hopes that other artists will get ideas of their own and will pick up a few tips and tricks. If any of you have any questions, please feel free to post them in the comments!

Thank you and happy creating!

